#5

Playa

Ocotal, Costa Rica
COSTA RICA

The waves gently crashed along the beach and just as the sun started to creep over the horizon, there she was. On the other side of the world, riding up on an old squeaky bicycle; she was more beautiful than anyone I’ve ever seen before. My friend Chris nudged my shoulder and whistled.

“Damn dude, take look at her! Better go say hi before I do.”

I told myself: Why not? I’m only here for another day, I might as well go and introduce myself.

I gulped in deeply, summoned all my courage and started walking towards her. The closer that I got, the more magnificent she became. Finally, when I was close enough, I called out,

“Hola! Hablas… Any English?”

She looked right at me and replied,

“No.”

I stopped instantly and just waved. We smiled and then she looked back at the sunset. When I turned to look at my friends, they were all laughing hysterically.  I retreated to where they were standing and said,

“Well, at least you guys think it’s funny.”

Chris shook his head, patted me on the back and continued to walk past me towards the girl.

“I’m gonna show you how it’s done.”


© 2017 Gerald Samms. All rights reserved.

